BOYCOTT LOWES: 50 CEOs You can Email NOW!

Written by  //  December 12, 2011  //  Article  //  7 Comments

boycottlowes

Bismillah.

This weekend, Lowe's Home Improvement made a controversial decision to pull an ad during the TLC show All-American Muslim due to pressure from a group of bigots called the Florida Family Association. (Source: Google/AP Wire) The FFA organized a series of campaigns targeting the advertisers of All-American Muslim for no other reason than that the show portrayed Muslims in a moderate light. 

The backlash against Lowe's for capitulating to these bigots has been swift and widespread. Celebrities like Russell Simmons and Mia Farrow have both condemned Lowe's decision, Simmons' pledging to organize a boycott if the company doesn't relent. (Source: Entertainment Weekly) Both have signed a petition set up by New Jersey activist Sami ElMansoury entitled "Defend Our American Values" which has received over 6,500 signatures as of early Monday morning. Regarding the petition, Russell Simmons tweeted "Sign this petition now. Stand against hatred and bigotry. Spread widely. The fact that Lowes pulled their advertisements from "All-American Muslims" is disgusting. I want 100,000 signatures. Let's make this happen." 

Similar outrage was expressed by Senator Ted Lieu (D-CA) who called upon Lowe's CEO to apologize to American Muslims for bigoted, shameful actions. (Read the full statement here). Senator Lieu also called for a boycott of Lowe's if they don't apologize:  "If Lowe’s continues its religious bigotry, I will encourage boycotts of Lowe’s and look into legislative remedies." 

Protests are being organized throughout the country at local Lowe's stores ranging from Washington DC to New York. As protests continue to get informed, we'll post the information here inshallah. For now, continue the pressure on the other advertisers to stand up against the pressure of bigots. 

wassalam

Khuram

 

BOYCOTT LOWES: 50 CEOS YOU CAN EMAIL NOW!

The following is a list of 50 CEOs you can email IMMEDIATELY and URGE them to stand up – not cave in like Lowes did – against these bigots. A special thanks goes to Sr. Mashal and Sr. Saman for putting these emails and message sample together. Scroll all the way to the bottom for a sample message you can write. 

 

SAMPLE EMAIL

"To whom it may concern: 

The Learning Channel's new show All-American Muslim is a great step in the effort to counter the bias that exists against many Muslim families in the United States. We believe that programs which promote tolerance and family values should be given all the support they can get. Shows like All-American Muslim which show loving families, strong bonds between husband and wife, the affirmation of the nuclear family are few and far between.

I encourage you to support (or continue supporting) this show with your advertising dollars. You are our only hope for a better tomorrow for our families."

cv@dyson.com

usa.enquiries@dyson.com

marsha.reed@disney.com

robert.a.iger@disney.com

RogerHochschild@discoverfinancial.com

DavidNelms@discoverfinancial.com

SFishman@biglots.com

RClaxton@biglots.com

Jeff.Bezos@Amazon.com

jeff@amazon.com

bezosj@amazon.com

shelleyr@amazon.com

eklee@prestigebrands.com

ir@amazon.com

jbezos@amazon.com

MMannelly@prestigebrands.com

tony.palmer@kcc.com

MButhman@kcc.com

thomas.falk@kcc.com

kcpinfo@kcc.com

Melanie.Morland@kraft.com

Rzahery@kraft.com

Irene.Rosenfeld@kraft.com

bill.ogle@motorola.com

juli.burda@motorola.com

greg.brown@motorola.com

Marquett.Smith@VerizonWireless.com

Marni.Walden@VerizonWireless.com

Daniel.Mead@VerizonWireless.com

KModany@ittesi.com

DFitzpatrick@ittesi.com

birwin@welchs.com

DEngelkemeyer@welchs.com

MWohl@welchs.com

Rob.deGroot@reckittbenckiser.com

stafford.dow@reckittbenckiser.com

Julie.Rafferty@reckittbenckiser.com

Mike.Linton@farmers.com

jack.evans@microsoft.com

bill.cox@microsoft.com

Richard_Clark@merck.com

David_Anstice@merck.com

Richard_Bowles@merck.com

AskBoard@microsoft.com

Chris.Capossela@microsoft.com

investorrelations@citi.com

Edward.Skyler@citigroup.com

Vikram.Pandit@citigroup.com

Vanessa.Colello@citi.com

Paul.Hopkins@farmers.com

bob.Woudstra@farmers.com

 

JOIN THE MOVEMENT!

www.facebook.com/boycottlowes

www.twitter.com/lowesboycott

 

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

About the Author

A man searching to get from "Allah who?" to "Allahu!"

View all posts by